Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
8

So You've Killed It Softly, Now What?

Planting in a Post-Lawn Patch
8

Back in October I posted this video about an easy way to get rid of some of that turfgrass lawn — no chemicals or machinery required, just a bit of patience. I layered cardboard, leaves and pine bark mulch on top of a patch of grass and let the concoction sit over the winter. In today’s video, I’m digging right through those layers to plant a “pocket meadow” of native plants in a narrow wedge of land between two driveways. The turfgrass appears to have cooperated by expiring, as intended, and perhaps even providing a few nutrients to the soil in the process. We’ll see how the new meadow fares. I certainly hope it will provide habitat for wildlife and beauty for us humans. As for the killing-it-softly method for turfgrass removal? Well, it’s all right.

If you live in the DC vicinity and could use assistance with sustainable landscaping, visit Bees’ Knees Design. I’d be happy to help you.

PS. If my eyes seem a bit off-kilter in the vid it’s cuz I got a bug bite near the left one a few days ago and looked for a while as though I’d been in a bar brawl. All better now though. ;)

8 Comments
The Bees' Knees
The Bees' Knees
Authors
Lolly Jewett